EU e-Privacy Directive

This website uses cookies to manage authentication, navigation, and other functions. By using our website, you agree that we can place these types of cookies on your device.

View e-Privacy Directive Documents

View GDPR Documents

You have declined cookies. This decision can be reversed.



Attracting the biggest field of drivers since the class' inception last year, the second round of the 2010/11 ORCA Mini Cup in Summerhill, Co. Meath, was a closely fought affair with Colin Whelan eventually coming out on top from Mini debutant Przemek Bogdanski and Jacek Zadrozny.

In qualifying it was Round 1 Top Qualifier Zadrozny who set the pace topping the 16 strong field from the winner of the season opener Oisin O'Briain. In the 8-minute finals the opening Leg saw Bogdanski get his Mini racing career off to a great start with victory over the pole sitter after starting from 3rd on the grid. Having hit problems in Leg 1 finishing 9th, Whelan, fresh from a Mini victory in Bangor the previous Sunday, took the second final after a four way battle for victory involving Bogdanski, Zadrozny and O'Briain. The result meant it was all to play for in the third & final leg and once again the action at the front was very close. In the end, by just 1/2 a second, it was Whelan who took the top spot from Zadrozny to secure maximum championship points from the very impressive Bogdanski.

Front runners in last season's Mini Cup Niki Meredith and Pat Healy did not deliver the challenge that was excepted. Healy qualified fifth and finished fifth while Meredith lined up 7th managing only to go the full distance in the opening leg and so in the end was classified last in the A final. In the B Final Pawel Borkowski, third overall at Round 1, took the win from Kevin White.

Round 3 of the ORCA Mini Cup takes place on December 5th when the entry is expected to reach 20 cars as more and more drivers sign up for this cheap and fun form of racing for the winter months.

ORCA Mini Cup Round 2

Results A Final

1.(4) Colin Whelan - 2 (9 1 1)
2.(3) Przemek Bogdanski - 3 (1 2 3)
3.(1) Jacek Zadrozny - 4 (2 3 2)
4.(2) Oisin O'Briain - 8 (4 4 5)
5.(5) Pat Healy - 8 (3 5 9)
6.(6) Eoin McGeough - 10 (10 6 4)
7.(8) Anthony Fitzpatrick - 11 (5 9 6)
8.(10)Ivan Thompson - 14 (7 7 8)
9.(9) David O'Sullivan - 15 (8 8 7)
10.(7)Niki Meredith - 16 (6 10 10)

Additional information