EU e-Privacy Directive

This website uses cookies to manage authentication, navigation, and other functions. By using our website, you agree that we can place these types of cookies on your device.

View e-Privacy Directive Documents

View GDPR Documents

You have declined cookies. This decision can be reversed.



Round 4 of the ORCA Mini Cup took place on January 2nd and it was Eoin McGeough who becomes Ireland's first winner of 2011 after he claiming a maiden victory in the increasingly competitive Tamiya Mini class. The victory makes him the fourth different race winner of the 2010/11 Winter Championship in as many races.

Qualifying saw Round 3 winner Jacek Zadrozny claim his third pole position in the series ahead of Round 2 winner Colin Whelan with McGeough lining up third in front of Round 1 winner Oisin O'Briain.

The first of the three 8-minute legs of the A-Main was taken by Whelan from Zadrozny with a much improved Anthony Fitzpatrick taking third after a great battle with O'Briain which was decided at the last corner when the latter crashed.

Having retired from the opening leg, McGeough was to take victory in A-Main number 2 from Zadrozny and Whelan meaning it was all to play for in the final race of the day. Taking the lead on Lap 7 McGeough went on to crush the opposition lapping the entire field to secure the overall win with Whelan and championship leader Zadrozny joining him on the podium. In the B final the youngest competitor in the series Alan Thompson took victory over Frank O'Sullivan.

The fifth round of the ORCA Mini Cup takes place on January 30th when Mick Byrne and Keith Dempsey are both expected to make the trip to Summerhill in Co. Meath to race one of front drive Tamiya Minis.

ORCA Mini Cup Round 4
Results A Final
1.(3) Eoin Mc Geough - 2 [7 1 1]
2.(2) Colin Whelan - 3 [1 3 2]
3.(1) Jacek Zadrozny - 4 [2 2 3]
4.(4) Oisín O' Briain - 8 [4 4 4]
5.(5) Anthony Fitzpatrick - 8 [3 5 5]
6.(6) David O'Sullivan - 11 [5 6 7]
7.(7) Ivan Thompson - 13 [6 7 8]
8.(8) Pawel Borkowski - 14 [9 8 6]
9.(9) Kevin White - 17 [8 9 9]

Additional information